Lawang Sewu is an old building beside Tugu Muda Monument in Semarang, Central Java, which was once the office of the Nederlands-Indische Maatschappij Spoorweg or NIS (Dutch railway company). This building was built starting in 1904 and was completed around 1907 and designed by the Dutch architect JF C.Citroen of Firm Klinkhamer and B.J. Quendag. Lawang Sewu Located next to the monument called Tugu Muda formerly called Wilhelminaplein.
Local people call it Lawang Sewu (Thousand Doors) is because the building has a door that very much. In reality though, there is a door that did not amount to a thousand. The building has many windows are tall and wide, so people often take it as a gate (door).
History of Lawang Sewu:
Lawang Sewu is one of the historical buildings built by the Dutch colonial government, on February 27, 1904. Originally the building was set to be used as Het Hoofdkantoor van de Nederlansch Indische Spoorweg Maatscappij (NIS) or the Office of Private Railway Company NIS. NIS office administration activities previously carried out at the station Semarang NIS. However, the growth of the railway network is quite rapid, and need for increasing the number of technical and administrative personnel are not small by increasing the activity office. One consequence management office at NIS Semarang station is no longer adequate. NIS also rented several buildings owned by an individual as an interim solution.
However, it is deemed inefficient. Not to mention the presence of NIS Semarang Station locations are located in the swamps to matters of sanitation and health is an important consideration. Then it was decided to build the administrative offices at the new location. The choice fell to land at that time was located in the suburbs adjacent to the residence of the Resident. It’s on the tip Bodjongweg Semarang (now Pemuda Street), at the corner of Meeting and Semarang naar Bodjongweg Kendalweg (road to Kendal). Entrust NIS headquarters building designs in Semarang to Prof. Jacob F. Klinkhamer (TH Delft) and B.J. Ouendag, an architect who lives in Amsterdam. The entire design process carried out in the Netherlands, then the pictures were taken to the city of Semarang. Judging from the blueprint written Lawang Sewu that site plan and building plans have been drawn in Amsterdam in 1903. Similarly, the completeness of his images are made and signed in Amsterdam in 1903.
After the Japanese took over the Dutch rule in Indonesia in 1942, the basement of this building was previously a drainage transformed into a dungeon as well as drainage. The house is also a silent witness to a fierce battle between the people of Indonesia by the Japanese soldiers known as “The Battle of Five Days in Semarang” (October 14, 1945-19 October 1945). To commemorate the historic event, a few years later, the government built a stele on page Wilhelmina Park, now known as Tugu Muda
Ancient buildings and magnificent two-story is used as an office after independence Railway Bureau Indonesia (DKARI) or now PT Indonesian Railways. Moreover once used as the Office of Infrastructure Agency Regional Military Command (Kodam IV / Diponegoro) Regional Office (Regional Office) Department of Transportation Central Java.
Given Lawang Sewu have important historical value, then the City of Semarang include Lawang Sewu as one of the 102 ancient or historic buildings in the city of Semarang that should be protected.